Support Texas Cycling

Join BikeTexas

IndividualBusinessClub/Team • Event


Bike education materials for your classroom, youth organization, and more.

Shop BikeTexas Store

Bike LightsJerseys, License Plates, T-Shirts, and more 

Order License Plates

Share your love for bikes while driving your car

Donate to the Cause

Support Bike Advocacy & Education

Group Bike Rentals


Premiere Business Members & Sponsors


Safety & Education

SafeCyclist Training

Get certified to teach the SafeCyclist Curriculum 

Educational Resources

 Resources for teachers and community members

SRTS Event Handbook


News / Blog Advocacy News Austin Elects Several Bike-Friendly Council Members

Austin Elects Several Bike-Friendly Council Members

austin city hall biketexasThe campaigning is done, the votes are counted, and Austin’s new 10-1 City Council is ready to take their seats in January. BikeTexas congratulates all the new council members on their successful run for office. We are very excited that many pro-bike candidates are now on the council, including those we endorsed in districts 2, 3, 4, 5, and 7. We are also convinced that current CM Tovo and Mayor-Elect Adler will be great for biking and walking based on their campaigns, their comments, and their histories.

It is now up to those of us in the cycling community to work constructively with and educate the new council members who have not yet indicated support for biking infrastructure. We look forward to working with all of the new city council toward a more bikeable, walkable Austin! Congratulations to Austin’s new council:

Mayor - Steve Adler
District 1 - Ora Houston
District 2 - Delia Garza
District 3 - Pio Renteria
District 4 - Greg Casar
District 5 - Ann Kitchen
District 6 - Don Zimmerman
District 7 - Leslie Pool
District 8 - Ellen Troxclair
District 9 - Kathie Tovo
District 10 - Sheri Gallo

Austin definitely saw the power of every vote in this election. Some races were very tight and only a few dozen votes separated the candidates. BikeTexas encourages all Texans to exercise their right to vote in every election. Not sure if you’re registered? Start here so you don’t miss another election. 

We’re also proud of those among our endorsements who were not elected-- Mike Martinez, DeWayne Lofton, Jimmy Flannigan, Jeb Boyt, Ed Scruggs, & Mandy Dealey-- for running good campaigns and stepping up to support Austinites who ride bikes. We wish you all the best and hope that whatever your next step is, you will all remain active leaders for a better Austin.

Business Members, Sponsors, & Friends