Support Texas Cycling

Join BikeTexas

IndividualBusinessClub/Team • Event


Bike education materials for your classroom, youth organization, and more.

Shop BikeTexas Store

Bike LightsJerseys, License Plates, T-Shirts, and more 

Order License Plates

Share your love for bikes while driving your car

Donate to the Cause

Support Bike Advocacy & Education

Group Bike Rentals


Premiere Business Members & Sponsors


Safety & Education

SafeCyclist Training

Get certified to teach the SafeCyclist Curriculum 

Educational Resources

 Resources for teachers and community members

SRTS Event Handbook


News / Blog Action Alerts! ACTION UPDATE - No Movement in the Senate

ACTION UPDATE - No Movement in the Senate

Safe Passing Not Introduced on Senate Floor Today

The 2009 Safe Passing Bill (CSSB 488 / CSHB 827) was not introduced on the Texas Senate floor for a vote today. We hope the bill will be introduced next week. We are not certain this will happen.

Is support in the Senate slipping?
We are concerned that support is slipping among some senators. The following senators have been moved from our Confirmed-Yes list to our Uncertain list:
Robert Duncan (R-Lubbock), Dist. 28
Joan Huffman (R-Houston), Dist. 17
John Whitmire (D-Houston), Dist. 15

What should BikeTexas members and other cycling advocates do during this time?
Respectfully urge your senator to sign up as a coauthor of the bill.
This will demonstrate that they understand how important this bill is to all vulnerable road users who want to reduce the 1000 vulnerable road users deaths in Texas each year. (See below for the entire linked list of senators and their positions on CSSB 488. Click here to find your senator.)

Your senator will join the distinguished company of Senators Rodney Ellis (D-Houston), John Carona (R-Dallas), Wendy Davis (D-Fort Worth), and Florence Shapiro (R-Plano).

Also, forward this email to friends, especially if they are constituents of an "Uncertain" senator.

Can they all join as coauthors?
You bet they can. Momentum on a bill frequently moves faster the more legislators who sign up as co-authors. If we reach 21 coauthors, Senate passage will be virtually assured.

Do the Senators have the information they need to make that decision?
They do. We are linking below to two letters with attachments that we have sent in recent days to Senator Shapiro and Senator Dan Patrick after they expressed concerns about CSSB 488.

Senator Shapiro was reassured by the letter such that she signed on as a coauthor of CSSB 488. BikeTexas has not yet received any information from Senator Patrick's office indicating that his concerns have been allayed.
Letter to Senator Shapiro, April 5, 2009
Letter to Senator Patrick, April 7, 2009

If the senate office does indicate to you how your senator plans to vote, or whether he or she will coauthor the Safe Passing Bill, please let us know! Contact Emma at 512-476-7433 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

Kip Averitt (R-Waco), Dist. 22
Robert Duncan (R-Lubbock), Dist. 28
Craig Estes (R-Wichita Falls), Dist. 30
Troy Fraser (R-Horseshoe Bay), Dist. 24
Chris Harris (R-Arlington), Dist. 9
Glenn Hegar (R-Katy), Dist. 18
Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa (D-Mission), Dist. 20
Joan Huffman (R-Houston), Dist. 17
Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville), Dist. 3
Steve Ogden (R-Bryan), Dist. 5
Dan Patrick (R-Houston), Dist. 7
John Whitmire (D-Houston), Dist. 15

Support Safe Passing
John Carona (R-Dallas), Dist. 16
Wendy Davis (D-Fort Worth), Dist. 10
Robert Deuell (R-Greenville), Dist. 2
Rodney Ellis (D-Houston), Dist. 13
Kevin Eltife (R-Tyler), Dist. 1
Mario Gallegos (D-Houston), Dist. 5
Mike Jackson (R-La Porte), Dist. 11
Eddie Lucio, Jr. (D-Brownsville), Dist. 27
Jane Nelson (R-Lewisville), Dist. 12
Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo), Dist. 31
Florence Shapiro (R-Plano), Dist. 8
Eliot Shapleigh (D-El Paso), Dist. 29
Carlos Uresti (D-San Antonio), Dist. 19
Leticia Van de Putte (D-San Antonio), Dist. 26
Kirk Watson (D-Austin), Dist. 14
Jeff Wentworth (R-San Antonio), Dist. 25
Royce West (D-Dallas), Dist. 23
Tommy Williams (R-The Woodlands), Dist. 3
Judith Zaffirini (D-Laredo), Dist. 21
Business Members, Sponsors, & Friends